The teams, sponsored by Norton Rose Fulbright, represented the university excellently in the final rounds, as was evident in the results. Eloff and Erasmus walked away with the award for the best heads of arguments in the Afrikaans junior division, with Oelofse being recognised as the best Afrikaans oralist. Hill was recognised as the best English oralist, with her and Maralack winning the award for the best junior English team as well as the best junior team overall. Maralack said, “The feeling you get when representing Tuks well is indescribable.”

Dey van Heerden, chairperson of TuksMoot, said “The skills [the team] have learnt will be the thing that will stay with them for the longest.”


Photo: Shannon Nauschutz