The 45 minute black and white video follows men in an empty warehouse tinkering with power tools and moving from one workstation to another. The warehouse features fluorescent lights hanging from the ceiling and a giant set of speakers huddled next to various studio equipment. The album is reminiscent of Kanye West’s recent release, The Life of Pablo, and Chance the Rapper’s recent release Coloring Book.

The sounds of Frank Ocean’s signature icy falsetto notes strongly influence the sultry feel of the track list and become a constant of the visual album. Each track is distinctly different in sound, but they flow together cohesively to form an unbroken listening experience. Fast-paced rap flows into sullen and heartfelt vocals accompanied by a variety of instruments. The album features synth elements as well as classical piano and guitar.

Endless opens with the track “At your best” and ends with a track called “Higgs”, as detailed in the visual album’s closing credits. The album features a wide variety of collaborators, most notably Jazmine Sullivan, who is featured on four songs. Singer Sampa is featured on the track “Alabama” and has previously collaborated with both Drake and Kanye West. The album also features a new version of Ocean’s previous cover of “At your best (You Are Love)” originally by the Isley Brothers. The song also features James Blake, who contributes musically. This track is especially popular with fans on social media and can already be found on Soundcloud for online streaming.

The fabled studio album titled Boys Don’t Cry, initially set for release on 5 August, disappointed fans when it was announced that the release date would be pushed back. The release has since been egged on by fans and social media uproar. Fans continue to speculate if Boys Don’t Cry will be released at all.



Website | view posts