The quarter-finals of England’s oldest football tournament will take place this weekend as the last eight teams aim to get closer to the FA (Football Association) Cup’s Wembley final in May. Six out of the eight teams contesting for semi-final spots have won the cup before.

In the first match of the weekend, Wigan Athletic travel to Goodison Park to face Everton. Wigan beat Huddersfield Town 4-1 on 17 February to advance to the quarter-finals, while Everton beat Oldham Athletic 3-1 in their fifth-round replay. Wigan have only reached the quarter-final stage of the FA Cup once in the team’s history, in which they lost 2-0 to Leeds. Everton have won the FA Cup five times. Their last win in the tournament came in 1995. They lost the 2009 final 2-1 to Chelsea after scoring first through Louis Saha.

Manchester City play Barnsley at the Etihad Stadium in Saturday’s late game. Manchester City beat Leeds United 4-0 to advance to the quarter-finals. Championship side Barnsley beat Milton Keynes Dons 3-1 in the fifth round. Manchester City have won the FA Cup on five occasions, most recently in 2011. Barnsley finished second in the tournament in the 1909-1910 season and won it the following season.

Millwall play Blackburn Rovers in the first of Sunday’s fixtures at The Den Stadium in London. Millwall played against Manchester United in the 2004 final and lost the match 3-0. Blackburn Rovers have not won the FA Cup since 1928, when they won it for the sixth time.

Manchester United, who have won the competition 11 times, more than any other team, host cup holders Chelsea. Chelsea have won the FA Cup seven times. Chelsea were the last team to win at the old Wembley stadium and the first team to win at the new Wembley.


Website | view posts