The University of Pretoria’s football team, AmaTuks, is competing in the Premier Soccer League (PSL) for the first time in the club’s history after winning South Africa’s second-tier football competition, the National First Division (NFD).

AmaTuks gained promotion to the PSL automatically by winning the 2011/2012 NFD league. The PSL is contested by 16 teams from across the country and is South Africa’s top football league. Notable teams that compete in the PSL are defending champions Orlando Pirates, Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundowns.

AmaTuks finished the 2011/2012 season on top of the NFD log, 4 points ahead of Chippa United. AmaTuks finished the 30-game season with 15 wins, 10 draws and 5 losses, scoring 45 goals in the process.

AmaTuks began their maiden PSL season with a six-game unbeaten streak. Their first game of the season was against Maritzburg United, which was drawn 1-1, with David Radebe scoring the team’s first goal in South Africa’s top football league. AmaTuks’ first win came with a 1-0 victory over Golden Arrows in their second game of the season. They went on to beat Soweto team Moroka Swallows 3-2 and draw against Tshwane rivals SuperSport United and Platinum Stars. AmaTuks’ most notable victory came in the 5-1 drubbing of Ajax Cape Town in the sixth game of the season. Star midfielder Aubrey Ngoma scored 4 of the goals.

AmaTuks’ brilliant start to the season was ended by a 3-1 defeat at home to Orlando Pirates. They were also eliminated from the Telkom Knockout Cup after losing 1-0 to Mamelodi Sundowns in the first round of the competition.

Photo: Kobus Barnard

Website | view posts