The 2017 Constitutional Tribunal consists of the following persons:

  • Chief Justice: Rainier Rademan
  • Deputy Chief Justice: Nelsie Siboza
  • Registrar: Marcia van der Merwe
  • Senior Judge: Jenna Hilton

The judges for 2017 are: Lindi Mtsweni, Sian Williams, Antonie Klopper, Tinotenda Kakora, Ramathabatha Molaba, Boikhutso Somo, Ciara Quinn, Yemurai Nhamburo, Akhona Boloko, Lawrence-John Maralack, Shaaheen Omar and Rebone Dikotla.

The Constitutional Tribunal replaced the Student Court on 1 January 2008, after the Constitution for Student Governance (CSG) was amended. According to the CSG, any student or student society can approach the tribunal to ask for non-binding lawful advice on the CSG or for the tribunal to judge a dispute within a society. The tribunal strives to enforce the CSG and aims to uphold the Student Bill of Rights.

Chief Justice Rainier Rademan saidthat the new Constitutional Tribunal will make sure that the university keeps in line with its own transformation goals, as well as that of the student body as a whole. He also said that the tribunal will try to be more visible and present on all of the universities campuses, so as to be more approachable to all students and to create a healthy study environment for all. Additionally, the tribunal will engage with other universities’ student courts and tribunals in order to learn and improve the way in which they govern at UP. The new tribunal will look into the fact that there is a backlog in disciplinary proceedings at the university and will assist the university to facilitate and manage the disciplinary process by educating students on the disciplinary procedures. Rademan added that community engagement is of great importance to the tribunal and that they will focus on assisting UP students in need in the coming year.  


Website | view posts